FREE SHIPPING in CANADA for orders over $35
The Town That Drowned (10th Anniversary Edition eBOOK)

The Town That Drowned (10th Anniversary Edition eBOOK)

280 pages
Published:   September 21, 2021
Fiction  /  Novels
ePub:   9781773102320    $19.95

A perennial favourite.
"Charming, wry, and believable." — Quill & Quire

Riel Nason’s novel The Town That Drowned debuted in 2011 to glowing reviews and a flurry of awards, including a Commonwealth Book Prize. Nason’s evocation of the awkwardness of childhood, the thrill of first love, and the importance of having a place to call home made the novel an instant classic. Now in celebration of its 10th anniversary, The Town That Drowned will be released in a special anniversary edition, with an afterword, a fresh design, and an online book club guide.

In the town of Haventon, Ruby Carson’s embarrassing fall through the ice ruins a skating party and prompts an unfortunate vision: her entire town — buildings and people — floating underwater. As orange-tipped surveyor stakes begin to turn up, the residents of Haventon soon discover that a massive dam is being constructed and that most of their homes will be swallowed by the rising water. Suspicions mount, tempers flare, and secrets are revealed. As the town prepares for its own demise, 14-year-old Ruby Carson sees it all from a front-row seat.
+Show more


Riel Nason is a writer and textile artist. She is the author of three novels, one for middle-grade readers; a children’s picture book; and two books on quilting. The Town That Drowned was her debut novel. It won the Commonwealth Book Prize for Canada and Europe and the Margaret and John Savage First Book Award. She lives in Quispamsis, New Brunswick.

Customer Reviews

Based on 11 reviews Write a review