FREE SHIPPING in CANADA for orders over $35

Marq de Villiers Shortlisted

The nominees for the 2016 East Coast Literary Awards were announced today in Halifax. Included in this year’s shortlisted titles for the Evelyn Richardson Non-Fiction Award is Back to the Well: Rethinking the Future of Water by Marq de Villiers.

A clear-eyed assessment of the politics of our most precious resource — from the personal and commercial uses of water to the impact of climate change and global conflicts...

Read more →

The Bastard of Fort Stikine Named Finalist

The finalists for the 2016 Arthur Ellis Awards for Excellence in Canadian Crime Writing were announced this morning by the Crime Writers of Canada (CWC). Included on this year’s list in the non-fiction category is The Bastard of Fort Stikine: The Hudson's Bay Company and the Murder of John McLoughlin, Jr. by forensic anthropologist and author Debra Komar.


Read more →

From the Forest to the Sea Honoured

Excellence in the Canadian museum sector was celebrated in Halifax last night at the 2016 Canadian Museums Association (CMA) Awards. Amongst the work recognized was From the Forest to the Sea: Emily Carr in British Columbia, co-published by the Art Gallery of Ontario, Dulwich Picture Gallery, and Goose Lane Editions, which received the award for Outstanding Achievement in Research – Art. The CMA jury was unanimous in their recognition of the publication’s national significance and achievement.
Read more →

Back to the Well Shortlisted

The shortlist for the 2015/2016 Donner Prize, the award recognizing the best public policy book by a Canadian, was announced Wednesday in Toronto. Said Alan Gotlieb, Chairman of the Donner Canadian Foundation, “These five finalists offer compelling, timely, and thought-provoking contributions to the public policy discourse in our country. Each of these books deserves celebration and wide readership.”
Read more →

Mark Anthony Jarman Shortlisted

The nominees for the 2016 Atlantic Book Awards were announced last night at a fundraiser at the Halifax Central Library. Included this year in the thirteen prize categories is a new award named for the late Alistair MacLeod. Endorsed by the MacLeod family, the Alistair MacLeod Award for Short Fiction honours the best short fiction from Atlantic Canadian authors. Three titles have been named to the shortlist, including Knife Party at the Hotel Europa by Mark Anthony Jarman.

Read more →